Skip to main content
News

Kraken Opens BTC, ETH Options to EEA Clients on Kraken Pro

Kraken confirmed EEA clients can now trade BTC and ETH options on Kraken Pro with default portfolio margin, per its October 26 blog announcement.

Kraken Opens BTC, ETH Options to EEA Clients on Kraken Pro
Eric Nkando
By Eric Nkando, senior writer · 2 min read · Published

Kraken confirmed on October 26, 2026, that eligible clients in the European Economic Area can now trade bitcoin and ether options on Kraken Pro, per the exchange's blog post announcing the regional rollout.

The exchange said the options sit in the same account and collateral pool as Kraken Pro futures, with portfolio margin switched on by default for eligible clients, according to the same post.

Why Kraken Separated Options From Its Broader Derivatives Push

Kraken has been building out its crypto options line for several months. The exchange's July 16, 2026 blog post, "Kraken bringing crypto options to a wider audience as the market scales," described new bitcoin and ether options contracts aimed at expanding access beyond Kraken's earlier, more limited rollout. That post did not specify the EEA as a target region; the October 26 announcement is the first Kraken has made confirming EEA availability on Kraken Pro specifically.

Options trading lets a holder buy the right, but not the obligation, to buy or sell an asset at a set price before a set date. Combining options with futures under one account and one collateral pool is a structural choice Kraken has made: a trader's margin requirement is calculated across both products together rather than separately, which the exchange frames as a way to use capital more efficiently. Kraken's blog post does not state a specific margin formula or publish example calculations, so the practical effect on a given trader's capital requirements will vary by position and is not detailed in the announcement.

Kraken's post names Kraken Pro as the venue and the EEA as the newly eligible region, but it does not specify which EEA member states are excluded, if any, nor does it list minimum account requirements for options access. Those details are not present in either Kraken blog post reviewed for this article.

What EEA Traders Should Verify Before Trading

Kraken's own post is the only public source confirming this rollout as of this writing; no secondary outlet coverage was located corroborating the specific October 26 EEA launch date. Traders based in the EEA considering using the new product should review Kraken's eligibility terms directly on its platform, since the blog post itself does not enumerate country-by-country restrictions. For readers newer to derivatives generally, CoinsCipher's crypto exchanges hub tracks how major platforms structure fees, custody and regulatory status, which is useful context when comparing where to trade a product like this.

Kraken's announcement does not include guidance on position sizing or risk limits for the new options product beyond noting that portfolio margin is on by default. What happens next worth watching: whether Kraken publishes country-specific eligibility details or additional contract listings tied to this EEA expansion.

Sources

  1. Options are now available on Kraken Pro in the EEA — accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Kraken bringing crypto options to a wider audience as the market scales — accessed Jul 16, 2026